Create a great road map to success


How many calendars do you have? How many do you update? Do you have lists that correspond with those calendars? How many? I ask because I was sitting with a customer the other day having a great meeting. When it was over, we decided to put another meeting on the calendar for a few weeks from now. I pulled out my Blackberry. He pulled out his Daytimer and a small pocket calendar and was ready to schedule me in. We agreed on a date and then he wrote the appointment on his desk calendar too! I then asked him if he had two or three calendars going for his marketing and business initiatives. “No,” he said. “I don’t put my marketing stuff on a calendar. I just do what I need to do, when I need to.” Yikes! Here’s a guy who’s keeping track and creating synergy between three calendars for his personal and professional life appointments, but isn’t keeping score of his plan! A marketing calendar will help you synchronize your marketing mix. You don’t want to launch a new website without planning its prelaunch announcement with a direct mail campaign to drive awareness of (and traffic to) the site. In that same vein, you don’t want to send out a postcard too soon, because you might bring customers to a URL that’s not live or still under construction. That’s a major turnoff to any prospect! Create your map for success by using a marketing calendar. For that matter, consider having one master calendar. Period.

Leave a Reply

