Going postal


I have a few quirky habits that I keep hidden under my bed and my latest is my collection of postcards. These aren’t the ones from Paris or Bali that my worldly friends have sent from their adventures. No, these are the 4” x 6” and 5 ½” x 8 ½” postcards from exotic destinations like LLBean, Walt Disney World, Staples (those are real keepers because they come with coupons), and Book of the Month Club. Clearly these business know that direct mail is not dead. No, it is very much alive, to the point that our friends at the U.S. Postal Service say that we spend about $250 billion each year in response to direct mail. Guess what kind of sales numbers you can post with direct mail? About $10 for every dollar spent – double the return of a TV ad. I love doing this blog thing, and adding new info to my website, and sending out e-newsletters, and all that other new media stuff that keeps changing by the minute. But if I’m looking for a marketing staple that I know will work to drive traffic to my website, phone, or emailbox, I head for the box under my bed for ideas. That’s where I find some of the best-kept secrets. Okay, and maybe some dust bunnies.

Leave a Reply

