Why being wire-“less” is sometimes a good thing


I’m sitting in the car dealership  this morning, having my car serviced. I love this dealership because I can come and work, thanks to their free wireless connection. I simply check in, figure out how long the service appointment will be, boot up and log on. I don’t have to worry about finding a ride somewhere while they work on my car. Nor do I have to sit in the waiting room and fester, thinking of all the lost minutes I’m accruing because I’m not “working.” However, today is the day the dealership decided to switch over their computer software. Read: the wireless connection is “down.” I rolled my eyes at the service guy, got a bit frustrated, and tried to switch gears as my plan for work this morning clearly changed. And then I realized, maybe it’s not a bad thing to be wire “less.” Sometimes when we have a Blue Tooth in our ear, a Blackberry in our palm or a laptop, well, in our lap, we are multi-tasking so hard and thinking so fast, that there’s a good chance we’re not actually being as productive as we think we are. By being “unplugged” this morning, I didn’t have to check email. It gave me about an hour and a half of uninterrupted “quiet” time to do some brainstorming and thinking about projects that are always thrown to the back burner simply because they require an uninterrupted chunk of time. So when you plan out your week, find a place that doesn’t have wireless or boot up on a blanket in a community park. Schedule some wire-less time and you’ll be amazed at how empowered you will truly feel – and how productive you really do become.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

