Hulu what?


Crunchbase.com provided the following quote in their company description for Hulu: “Jason Kilar, Hulu’s CEO, explains ‘Objectively, Hulu is short, easy to spell, easy to pronounce, and rhymes with itself. Subjectively, Hulu strikes us as an inherently fun name, one that captures the spirit of the service we’re building.’” Crunchbase goes on to editorialize, “However, we’re not so sure it was the wisest name to pick.” You see, “hulu” in Swahili translates to “cease” and “desist.” That’s in addition to the fact that it doesn’t tell you anything about what the company does – nor do its commercials. Last night, I saw my second Hulu commercial, the first being a 60-second spot during the Super Bowl. Watch the spot on YouTube.  I just don’t get it. So I went today to Hulu.com to check it out. Wow! Talk about commercials not communicating! I thought Hulu was just a silly project that, as Alec Baldwin explained, would make you feel like an alien and transform your brain into mush. Wasn’t quite sure what it was all about so I ignored it. What it really means is if I miss my favorite TV show, I can watch it, for free, whenever and wherever I want, on my laptop on hulu.com.   Lesson learned? While it’s fun to be creative, have big celebrity stars in your commercials and think out of the box, don’t lose your message in the process. If you do, you’ll lose your customer at the same time.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

