How can you not be on email?


This question has me perplexed. I sent out a program update to a partner over a month ago, clearly stating the due date for the invoice. Now when I say “sent out” I did not send it via snail mail; I emailed it. After all, I saved a bit of a tree, the cost of postage and the little bit of time it would have taken me to address the envelope, stuff the invoice in it and get it to a post office or mail box. Last week I sent out a program notice, again via email, which the partner then called me about. “Did you send out a first notice?” he asked. I did was my reply. “By email?” he asked again. Well, yes. He then went into a long tirade of how he doesn’t check his email regularly and asked if I had sent a notice to partners (presumably by snail mail) that program notices would now be emailed instead, etc., etc. I bit my tongue. What I wanted to ask was, “Have you honestly not checked your email in a month?” And how is it that of the other 100 partner I emailed program notices to, nearly 99 percent of them received the notice and responded. I empathize with those people who are having a hard time grasping new technology. But hasn’t email really become old technology? How are you going to do business more efficiently and effectively? And how are you going to help your partners or customers do the same?

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

