How to get on Oprah


OK, so who wouldn’t want to be on “Oprah”, right? After all, it’s a sure-fire way to launch your business or career into superstardom. But I’m not writing today about how to appear on Oprah. I’m actually writing about the perfect “subject line” in an email. Because “How to get on Oprah” was the subject line of an email I received recently, and naturally, I opened it. Again, who doesn’t want to be on this blockbuster show? What an amazing, grabbing subject line. And the key to its success was that when I opened the email to find out how I was going to become famous, the email told me exactly the steps I needed to take to get on Oprah’s show. The steps weren’t easy. Nor were the required small, platform-building steps before actually thinking that one might have an audience with the mega-star. But the subject line delivered what it promised. It was now my decision as to whether or not I was going to take the information to heart. Your subject line in any email must draw your reader in and make him want more. Then you must deliver the “more.” Otherwise next time, your reader will click delete instead.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

