What are you dependent on?


In today’s economy, you can’t go it alone. You need partners, customers, and employees that will work together as a team, banding together for a common goal. But that’s the human aspect of teamwork, of course. What are the “things” you need as a team to get the job done successfully? I’m asking myself this question as I sit working remotely this morning. I have spent the better part of the last hour trying to connect to a wireless connection with no success. I’ve retyped the security code given to me by the business establishment. I’ve rebooted my computer, asked the service desk for help. You know the drill. Aside from “calling” tech support, I’ve tried just about everything. And then I got to thinking, “What am I doing?!” I am wasting time trying to connect to the Internet, when there are other projects I could be working on that don’t require the Internet (like writing this blog… until I need to upload it of course). My point is, when you as an individual or with your team come across an obstacle that stops you in your tracks and forces you to solve an immediate problem, look at the big picture first. I know that in an hour I’ll be in a new location where I know I am guaranteed Internet access. And in the meantime, I can sit here and write. I will accomplish other goals, until I can get back on track with my original goal of this morning (one that requires online access). Time is precious. Make sure you take the necessary steps with everything you do so that you don’t waste it.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

